St. Mary's pupils receive Diana Award December 2014

St. Mary’s Menston is delighted to announce that the Bambisanani Partnership has yet again been publicly honoured with the Diana Award

The Diana Award is a legacy to Princess Diana’s belief that young people have the power to change the world for the better. Since 1999, the Diana Award has recognised over 42,000 young people who have made a positive difference to the lives of others and their communities.  The Diana Award believe that young people should be: encouraged for their contributions to society, empowered to reach their full potential and they should be engaged in social action as early in life as possible.

St. Mary's pupils awarded the Diana Champion Volunteer Award for their work in South Africa as part of the Bambisanani Partnership:

  • Beth Cotton
  • Anna Evans
  • Myles Hanlon
  • Megan Haskins
  • Helena Hunt
  • Megan Ireton-Bourke
  • Olivia Leonard
  • James Smith
  • Emily Sutcliffe
  • Eleanor Thompson
  • Bethany Tindall
  • Caroline Turnbull
  • Karl Verspyck
  • Jonathan Vincent

The students visited the country during the summer and were responsible for mentoring young leaders from Mnyakanya High School through the Bambisanani Leadership Award.  In addition, they also taught at the school and together with Mnyakanya students, were responsible for organising community reading and sports festivals.  The St. Mary’s students also worked at Ntolwane Primary School and Zulufadder Orphanage.

The group were presented with their Award at the recent prestigious Diana Award ‘Celebrate Young Heroes’ Ceremony held at Leeds United Football Club. 

The event was covered on regional television: 

Diana Awards Celebrate Young People who Make a Difference [ITV.COM]

“We at St. Mary’s are extremely proud of the group who were awarded The Diana Award. The Award will encourage them to continue their work and will hopefully inspire others to volunteer in their schools and communities. The whole group is delighted to recfeive an award in recognition of their commitment to helping others.”
— Mr David Geldart, Assistant Headteacher at St. Mary’s and founder of the Bambisanani Partnership

Once Award Holders receive the Award they join the Diana Network, a programme opening doors to work experience, volunteering and campaigning whilst training young people in employability and social action skills.

Young people can also join the Anti-Bullying Ambassadors Programme which trains young people across the UK and Ireland to become Anti-Bullying Ambassadors in their schools or communities; helping to prevent bullying and ensure everyone is happy and safe online and offline.

The Training and Mentoring Programme gives Award Holders who have achieved something remarkable themselves to become Youth Mentors to disadvantaged young people.

“The Diana Award is proud to recognise young volunteers, such as the group from St. Mary’s, who have the confidence and courage to stand up for what they believe. The Diana Champion Volunteer Award is presented to inspirational young people who have made a positive difference in the communities. With a growing network of over 42,000 Award Holders, we are building a force of young people who are committed to take social action and improve our communities.”
— Tessy Ojo Executive Director of the Diana Award